Spirit's Chosen
Spirit's Chosen (Princesses of Myth)
Spirit's Chosen
From princess to slave in the blink of an eye. . . .Himiko's world is falling apart. An attack by a rival clan, the Ookami, has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her people. But just when it seems that she will outwit Ryu, the cruel Ookami leader, she is captured. Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies. Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there's more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this princess turned shaman-warrior.Readers who love strong girl-centric adventures are eating up Esther Friesner's Princesses of Myth books, finding the mash-up of historical fiction and fantasy adventure irresistible!"Himiko is brave and bold. I love her!" --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author"This historical fiction/mythology/fantasy blend is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rick Riordan, and P. C. Cast." --School Library Journal

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Historical Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

A young girl named Kaya has been away from her village for a while and when she comes back her first sight of it is not good. When she sees it, she can see smoke coming from the village buildings and that the ancient pine was pulled down and burned. All of this was the result of the Ookami- the wolf clan. The wolf clan had taken many of Kaya's people as slaves and some of the ones that were taken were part of her family-the chieftain’s family.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
Profile Picture
What did you love about it?
6 years 3 months ago
Profile Picture
I really liked her book, Sphinx's Queen , which is also part of her Princesses of Myth books. Great historical fiction. I can't wait to read this one too.
6 years 3 months ago
LITPICK and YOU
 
Reviewers improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!
 

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS