The Strange Maid
The Strange Maid: Book 2 of United States of Asgard
The Strange Maid
Tessa Gratton
Fans of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, and Maggie Stiefvater will embrace the richly drawn, Norse-influenced alternate world of the United States of Asgard, where cell phones, rock bands, and evangelical preachers coexist with dragon slaying, rune casting, and sword training in schools. Where the president runs the country alongside a council of Valkyries, gods walk the red carpet with Hollywood starlets, and the U.S. military has a special battalion dedicated to eradicating Rocky Mountain trolls. Signy Valborn was seven years old when she climbed the New World Tree and met Odin Alfather, who declared that if she could solve a single riddle, he would make her one of his Valkyrie. For ten years Signy has trained in the arts of war, politics, and leadership, never dreaming that a Greater Mountain Troll might hold the answer to the riddle, but that’s exactly what Ned the Spiritless promises her. A mysterious troll hunter who talks in riddles and ancient poetry, Ned is a hard man to trust. Unfortunately, Signy is running out of time. Accompanied by an outcast berserker named Soren Bearstar, she and Ned take off across the ice sheets of Canadia to hunt the mother of trolls and claim Signy’s destiny.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Adventure
  • Fantasy
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

In a world where Norse Gods and the United States of Asgard are bound side by side in the Covenant, Signy Valborn was destined to become The Ninth Valkyrie since she was just seven, and her parents had died. She had climbed up on the New World Tree and found the Alfather, Odin the Mad, god of the hanged, and he made her the destined Valkyrie of The Tree.  And then years later, burned into that very same tree-

The Valkyrie of the Tree will prove herself with a Stone Heart.

 

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Bestselling Books at Booksamillion.com

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS