The Solomon Stone
The Solomon Stone

Twelve-year-old Ruby doesn't know her last name. In fact, she doesn't know a lot of things, including what happened to her parents or why she was abandoned on this scrubby little island where she couch surfs through life. What she does know, though, is that she's the best tracker on the island and that, given the chance, she'd do just about anything to have a real family and a home.



When an island visitor recognizes her as his long-lost niece, she’s suddenly in Manhattan with a family, an actual friend, and a huge diamond that used to belong to the King Solomon. Also? Every member of her family has an extra-sensory gift of Sight. Well, everyone except Ruby. Gutterball.

When the diamond is stolen, and a classmate is found gravely injured, Ruby must hunt to uncover who is behind the sinister plot to unravel her new life. A heist gone wrong, a serious betrayal, and a single gunshot turn the tides. In a race against the clock, Ruby must decide whether to save herself, her newfound family, or the Solomon stone.

Fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The 39 Clues will love the thrilling adventure of The Solomon Stone.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Juvenile Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 8 - 12

Ruby knows she isn’t normal. She has always been afraid of the water, despite living on an island. She doesn’t know who her parents are. She also sees lines that form a grid connecting her to everything and everyone around her. As far as she knows, Ruby has no living family members. So it is a shock when Ruby finds out that she has two uncles and a grandma who want to take care of her. Finally, she will be taken care of. But having someone understand her may be more dangerous than she ever thought.

Twelve year old Ruby Callahan, the main character in The Solomon Stone, by Christine Sandgren has been stranded on a Hawaiin island since her parents left her there after a party nine years ago. She is the only non-native person on the island but is also the best animal tracker because she can see “lines” that show her where things have been, and where they are going. For example, she can easily know when a cape buffalo will come to a certain spot on the island. Everything changes though, when her uncle and grandmother find her, and take her back to New York City.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Bestselling Books at Booksamillion.com

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS

Grammerly Writing Support on LitPick Book Reviews