Nine Days
Nine Days
Nine Days
Fred Hiatt
A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes place as two teens, an American teenage boy and his friend, a Chinese girl from his Washington, DC-area high school, must find her father who has been kidnapped—and they only have nine days. Although the characters in the novel are fictionalized, they are based on a real Chinese family who were part of the Chinese Democracy Movement and inspired this story."Few mysteries combine cultural diversity, politics and physical danger with a lighthearted friendship. This engaging mix will have great appeal."—Kirkus Reviews"A captivating thriller grounded in real-world problems."—Publishers Weekly"A rollicking and fast-paced young adult adventure novel."—South China Morning Post"Hiatt...offers middle-school-aged readers an appealing mix of action and friendship, with lessons about world events and human rights woven throughout."—Washington Post Book World“A compelling, teen-centric political thriller . . . inspired by actual events.”—BooklistOnline.comA NCSS/CBC Notable Children's Trade Book in the Field of Social Studies

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Adventure
  • Historical Fiction
  • Mystery

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

 Nine Days is a book about a boy named Ethan and his friend Tianna.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
 
LITPICK and YOU
 
Reviewers improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS