My Storied Year
My Storied Year

I’m hoping these kids won’t forever remember
the smell as me.

Dragon Stewart, seventh-grader at Piney Woods Middle school, works hard every day to avoid bullies and his own weird sister. But things change when his mom gets sick and social services steps in to make sure they are safe and well taken care of. (Spoiler: They’re not.)

School has always been hard for Dragon; dyslexia is just one of the deep, dark secrets that keep him alone in the school hallways. He is sure that he will never do well in school, never belong, never be enough. (Spoiler: He’s wrong.)

Fans of Gordon Korman’s Restart and R.J. Palacio’s Wonder will enjoy Dragon’s inspiring journey to discover that his story matters.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Fiction

Age Level: 

  • Any Age

Dragon Stewart, the main character in My Storied Year, by Katie Proctor, got his unique name because of his mom’s obsession with Harry Potter. As the book begins, Dragon, a 7th grader at Piney Woods Middle School, has too many problems to count. His mom is trying to take care of Dragon, his younger step-sister and his toddler cousin all on her own. This is difficult for her to do because she has diabetes and smokes and can hardly get out of bed some days. In school, Dragon struggles with dyslexia and gets teased by the school bully, Travis, about how he smells.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Bestselling Books at Booksamillion.com

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS

Grammerly Writing Support on LitPick Book Reviews