Beyond the Deepwoods
Edge Chronicles 1: Beyond the Deepwoods (The Edge Chronicles)
Beyond the Deepwoods
Chris Riddell, Paul Stewart
Top Choice
Young Twig lives in the Deepwoods, among the Woodtrolls, but he isn’t one of them. In a brave attempt to find out where he belongs, Twig wanders into the mysterious, dangerous world beyond the Deepwoods. He meets a collection of odd companions, such as his wise guardian, the Caterbird; the Slaughterers, a peaceful race who butcher animals for their livelihood; and the vicious, bile-swilling Rotsucker. Always watching out for the horrible Gloamglozer, whose presence haunts the thoughts of all the inhabitants of The Edge, Twig steadfastly pursues his quest until he discovers his roots, not among the trees, but in the skies. . . .

Book Details


  • Adventure
  • Fantasy
  • Fiction
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

Abandoned at birth in the Deepwoods, Twig is living with a family of woodtrolls. One day, his adopted mother tells Twig that she is not his real mother and he must travel to his cousin's and hopefully he will find his destiny. Twig strays from the path that leads to his cousin's house, and he is lost in the dangerous Deepwoods. Twig has many adventures in the woods, and he meets many different creatures. Twig also learns many lessons, about nature and the ways of life. Twig wanders very far, but has still not found where his life lies.

Profile Picture

The book, Beyond the Deepwoods, is the beginning of a promising series. There is a boy, Twig, who was raised by a family of wood trolls in the Deepwoods of the Edge. It is a world full of magical creatures and strange surprises at the edge of the world. He has always been different, not as strong or big as the other wood trolls. One day, his mother tells him that he was found as a baby outside of their home and that he really wasn't a wood troll. So he set of on a journey to find his real parents.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Bestselling Books at