A Wish After Midnight
A Wish After Midnight
A Wish After Midnight
Zetta Elliott
“Although there is plenty of history embedded in the novel, A Wish After Midnight is written with a lyrical grace that many authors of what passes for adult literature would envy.” (Paula L. Woods for The Defenders Online) “Zetta Elliott’s time travel novel A Wish After Midnight is a bit of a revelation…It’s vivid, violent and impressive history." (Colleen Mondor for Bookslut) Genna is a fifteen-year-old girl who wants out of her tough Brooklyn neighborhood. But she gets more than she bargained for when a wish gone awry transports her back in time. Facing the perilous realities of Civil War–era Brooklyn, Genna must use all her wits to survive. In the tradition of Octavia Butler’s Kindred and Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time, A Wish After Midnight is the affecting and inspiring tale of a fearless young woman’s fight to hold on to her individuality and her humanity in two different worlds.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Adventure
  • Fiction
  • Juvenile Fiction
  • Science Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

In this book, Genna gets transported into Brooklyn in the time of the Civil War. I got to page 50 and she still didn't get transported.This isn't a book where the author captures you and makes you want to keep reading. If you like reading about history, be ready to wait.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
 
LITPICK and YOU
 
Reviewers improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS