The Way the World Is (Book 2 of the Olivia series)
The Way the World Is (The Olivia Series Book 2)
The Way the World Is (Book 2 of the Olivia series)
Book 2 of the Olivia Series "Historical fiction at its best" -- D.Donovan, eBook Reviewer, Midwest Book Review The Olivia series consists of: Book 1 - Olivia, Mourning (Historical - 1840s) Book 2 - The Way the World Is (Historical - 1840s) Book 3 - Whatever Happened to Mourning Free? (Vintage Contemporary -1967 and Historical - 1840s)Book 4 - The Summer of 1848 (Historical - 1848)The Way the World Is Please note that this is Book 2 of a series. While it can be read on its own, readers who begin with Book 1, Olivia, Mourning, will have a deeper understanding of the characters. After the devastating trauma she suffered in Olivia, Mourning and finally knowing the reality with which she must contend, Olivia strives to rebuild herself - emotionally, socially, and financially. She starts a new life in Detroit, the young and exciting city on a river where she has come to feel at home. New friends help the healing process, while she continues to search for the two people she loves, who have disappeared from her life. She finds some solace in helping fugitive slaves escape over the river to Canada. She believes, as one of her new friends says, "In this time and place it is the most worthy thing a person can do." Olivia remains a compelling protagonist on a journey to find a way to do the right thing in a world in which so much is wrong. About the Author Yael Politis grew up in Dearborn, Michigan, not far from Olivia's boarding house. After graduating from the University of Wisconsin, she moved to Israel, where she has lived most of her adult life, working as an agricultural laborer, Hebrew-English translator, English teacher, technical writer, and proposal writer.

Book Details


  • Historical Fiction

Age Level: 

  • Mature Young Adult
To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Place your ad here