True Blue: Book One of the True Blue Trilogy
True Blue: Book One of the True Blue Trilogy (Volume 1)
True Blue: Book One of the True Blue Trilogy
It's 1972 in Chickasaw, Alabama—a time when kids ride their bikes all over town, spend lazy summer days finding shapes in the clouds, squirt each other with the water hose, catch lightning bugs in a jar, and play outside until the streetlights come on. Best friends Jeana, Wade, and Billy Joe have lived on the same street all their lives, but things start to change the summer after the fourth grade. The boys begin to look at Jeana and each other differently, and puberty is getting close to rearing its ugly head. Can the three of them stay friends, or will someone's heart get broken? And who is that new boy in Chickasaw with the royal blue eyes? Fans of Stand By Me and Bridge to Terabithia will love the friendship bond between the characters and how it's affected by the sweet adolescent love story reminiscent of The Wonder Years.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Juvenile Fiction
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture
True Blue by Joyce Scarbrough is a story to treasure in your heart forever. Beginning in fourth grade, Wade Strickland has really wanted to tell Jeana Rusell that he is madly in love with her. So has Billy Joe DuBose. Jeana loves them both as brothers, not as boyfriends. 
 
To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
LITPICK and YOU
 
Students improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!
RECENT STUDENT BOOK REVIEWS