The Toadhouse Trilogy: Book One
The Toadhouse Trilogy: Book One (Volume 1)
The Toadhouse Trilogy: Book One
Aine believes herself to be a regular teenager in 1930s Alabama, but when a blue-eyed monster named Biblos attacks, she discovers that the reclusive woman raising her isn't really her grandmother and that she's been living inside a book for the past five years. With her blind brother, Spenser, she flees the pages of the novel she's called home, one terrifying step ahead of Biblos' black magic. Her only chance at survival lies in beating him to the three objects that he desires more than life. As she undertakes her strange and dangerous odyssey, Aine must choose between a family she doesn't remember and her growing attraction to a mysterious young man named Gilgamesh. Only through treacherous adventures into The Time Machine, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, A Tale of Two Cities, and the epic Indian saga The Ramayana will she learn her true heritage and restore the balance of the worlds... if she can stay alive. "Lourey never slackens the pace!" --St. Paul Pioneer Press "Riveting reading with a fascinating concept, 'The Toadhouse Trilogy' is not to be missed." --The Midwest Book Review "Readers will, like the protagonists, literally get lost in this book. Beautifully written and unquestionably entertaining, this projected trilogy truly does have the potential to become a young adult classic." --Paul Goat Allen (The Chicago Tribune reviewer) “Lourey's wonderful way with words will whisk readers away to an amazing new world!” --Anthony and Agatha Award winning author Chris Grabenstein

Book Details


  • Mystery

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.