Promise Of The Wolves
Promise of the Wolves: A Novel (The Wolf Chronicles)
Promise Of The Wolves
Dorothy Hearst
Top Choice
The first in The Wolf Chronicles trilogy, brilliantly weaving together original research, lovable characters and a dynamic, thoroughly engaging plot, Promise of the Wolves is a historical adventure story in the tradition of Clan of the Cave Bear and Watership Down.Set 14,000 years ago in what is now Southern Europe, Promise of the Wolves is told from the point of view of Kaala, a young wolf born of a forbidden, mixed-blood litter. An outcast after her mother is exiled, Kaala struggles to earn her place in her pack. But her world is turned upside down when she rescues a human girl from drowning. Kaala and her young packmates begin hunting and playing with humans—risking expulsion from their pack and banishment from their home in the Wide Valley. When war between humans and wolves threatens, Kaala learns that she is the last in a long line of wolves charged with keeping watch over humans in order to prevent them from losing touch with nature and thus destroying the world. But to do so she must solve the great paradox of wolfkind: though wolves must always be with humans, humans cannot abide the presence of wolves, and every time the two come together, war ensues. Kaala must choose between safety for herself, her friends, and their human companions and the survival of her pack—and perhaps all of wolf and humankind.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Adventure
  • Fantasy
  • Fiction
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

In this thrilling first book by Dorothy Hearst, the reader is immediately drawn into the adventures (and misadventures) of Kaala, a wolf whose very existence throws her pack into a gripping uneasiness. The trouble begins right away. It is clear from the start that Kaala will be an outcast. The pups father is from another pack, and as a result Kaalas mother is exiled. Motherless, Kaala is forced to struggle through daily discords with only the assistance of her two close companions.

Profile Picture

Promise of the Wolves takes place approximately 14,000 years ago, in a place called WideValley, back when humans were still sort of evolving. The story is told from the point of view of a wolf called Kaala, the main character of the book. The lives of the wolves revolve around a promise made by Indru, one of the first wolves. The rules were: never consort with humans, never kill a human, and kill any wolf that has mixed blood. Kaala was born with the power to either help or destroy her pack and all of wolf kind.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
 
LITPICK and YOU
 
Reviewers improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS