Principal Mikey
Principal Mikey
Principal Mikey
Top Choice
A hilarious S.T.E.A.M. chapter book for fans of Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries, this heartwarming story is perfect for any 7-12 year old. Mikey McKenzie is an expert at using the scientific method to solve problems in his neighborhood and school. The only problem he can't solve is that he's just 10-year-old and nobody takes any of his ideas seriously. But everything changes when the kooky Principal Walker appoints him as the new school principal when she gets called away, much to the chagrin of the stern Vice Principal Sherman. It's a dream come true for Mikey to finally have the power to implement all his great ideas to improve the school. However, when the power goes to his head, the new job strains his relationships with his best friend and his sister he looks up to. On top of that, the district is threatening to close the underperforming school unless they ace the new standardized test. By the end, he'll have to think outside the box to find solutions that will save the school and his most valued relationships. S.T.E.A.M. concepts: problem-solving, scientific method, educational technology, health/medicine, and social emotional learning.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Juvenile Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 8 - 12
Profile Picture

Mikey McKenzie is a normal ten-year-old with extraordinary ideas. He uses the scientific method to fix the problems that he sees. One day, he unexpectedly gets called to his principal's office. His crazy principals informs Mikey that she would like him to take over her spot while she is away taking care of her sick mother. Of course Mikey takes the job, because what student wouldn’t want to have a chance to change their school? The power soon goes to his head, and he realizes that there are bigger issues to deal with than having better school lunches.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
LITPICK and YOU
 
Students improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!
RECENT STUDENT BOOK REVIEWS