Kelley Armstrong
#1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong begins her new series with Omens, featuring a compelling new heroine thrust into a decades-old murder case and the dark mysteries surrounding her strange new home. Twenty-four-year-old Olivia Taylor Jones has the perfect life. The only daughter of a wealthy, prominent Chicago family, she has an Ivy League education, pursues volunteerism and philanthropy, and is engaged to a handsome young tech firm CEO with political ambitions. But Olivia’s world is shattered when she learns that she’s adopted. Her real parents? Todd and Pamela Larsen, notorious serial killers serving a life sentence. When the news brings a maelstrom of unwanted publicity to her adopted family and fiancé, Olivia decides to find out the truth about the Larsens. Olivia ends up in the small town of Cainsville, Illinois, an old and cloistered community that takes a particular interest in both Olivia and her efforts to uncover her birth parents’ past. Aided by her mother’s former lawyer, Gabriel Walsh, Olivia focuses on the Larsens’ last crime, the one her birth mother swears will prove their innocence. But as she and Gabriel start investigating the case, Olivia finds herself drawing on abilities that have remained hidden since her childhood, gifts that make her both a valuable addition to Cainsville and deeply vulnerable to unknown enemies. Because there are darker secrets behind her new home and powers lurking in the shadows that have their own plans for her.

Book Details


  • Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Paranormal
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

When she was just three years old, Eden Larson's parents were arrested for serial killing. Now a young adult, she has no knowledge of this dark past. Renamed Olivia by her adoptive parents, she lives the life of a privileged socialite, doing volunteer work and attending parties. This all changes when the media finds out that she is the long-lost Eden Larson, and the reputations of her family and fiance are threatened. Olivia leaves her home and moves to Cainsville, where she works with the sneaky lawyer Gabriel to figure out whether her parents are in fact guilty of murder.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.