Olive and the Backstage Ghost
Olive and the Backstage Ghost
Olive and the Backstage Ghost
Michelle Schusterman
A ghost story with a literary heart for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and The Graveyard Book. Theater kids and ghost-story readers alike will find new meaning in the term stage fright.   All great theaters have their ghosts. . . .   After Olive Preiss freezes during a theater camp audition, she flees in despair. She finds herself at Maudeville, a beautiful old theater that she’s never noticed before. She enters, goes onstage, and sings her song. “Thank you for that lovely audition, darling,” comes a voice from the shadows. “I believe I have just the part for you.”   Olive is thrilled to work with Maude Devore, the glamorous actress who owns the theater, and her eclectic cast of misfits. Yet gradually there are signs that Maudeville isn’t exactly what it seems. Sometimes—just for a moment!—it feels wrong. As opening day approaches, Olive’s doubts and fears grow. But no matter what, this show must go on . . . and on . . . and on. . . .“Richly drawn . . . a haunting and ethereal tale.” —Booklist, Starred Review

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Fiction
  • Paranormal
  • Science Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 8 - 12
Profile Picture

Olive Preiss loves to perform onstage and even signs up for a summer theater camp. There’s only one problem: her mother. Mrs. Preiss used to be a famous stage actress, but ever since Olive’s father died, she has been extra critical of her daughter. It seems like Olive can’t do anything right in her mother’s eyes. This makes her freeze up whenever she performs in front of her mom, which is exactly what happens during her theater camp audition.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
LITPICK and YOU
 
Students improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!
RECENT STUDENT BOOK REVIEWS