Firefly Hollow
Firefly Hollow
Firefly Hollow
Christopher Denise, Alison McGhee
Firefly. Cricket. Vole. Peter. Can four creatures from four very different Nations help one another find their ways in a world that can feel oh-so-big? Delve into this “wise and lovely reading adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) in the tradition of Charlotte’s Web and The Rats of NIMH, from the author of the New York Times bestselling Someday.“Firefly Hollow will set your heart aglow” (ALA Booklist, starred review). Firefly doesn’t merely want to fly, she wants to touch the moon. Cricket doesn’t merely want to sing about baseball, he wants to catch. When these two little creatures with big dreams wander out of Firefly Hollow, refusing to listen to their elders, they find themselves face-to-face with the one creature they were always told to stay away from…a giant. But Peter is a Miniature Giant. They’ve always been told that a Miniature Giant is nothing but a Future Giant, but this one just isn’t quite as big or as scary as the other Giants. Peter has a dream of his own, as well as memories to escape. He is overwhelmed with sadness, and a summer with his new unlikely friends Firefly and Cricket might be just what he needs. Can these friends’ dreams help them overcome the past? Firefly Hollow is nothing short of enchanting, reminding us all that the very best friend is the one who encourages you to achieve your dreams. Full-color tip-in illustrations and dozens of black-and-white drawings provide added glow.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Adventure
  • Fantasy
  • Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 8 - 12
Profile Picture

In the book Firefly Hollow by Alison McGee all the fireflies, crickets, and water voles are always told not to interact with the "giants,", also known as humans. Not Firefly, Cricket, and Water Vole. They like the miniature giant, Peter. They even want to do things like giants. Firefly wants to fly to the moon and Cricket wants to play catch. All Water Vole wants to do is find his family that was washed down the river in a big storm. When Firefly and Cricket's nations find out about their secrets, the pair decide to leave.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
RECENT BOOK REVIEWS

BEANTOWN ARCHIE of Instagram fame says, "Please support LitPick by shopping here. Thank you!"

Beantown Archie