Even When You Lie To Me
Even When You Lie to Me
Even When You Lie To Me
Jessica Alcott
A steamy debut about a love off limits, and lines destined to be crossed—with the wit of John Green and the heart of Sarah Dessen.   Tom Drummond is the perfect guy. He reads the classics. He tells the wittiest jokes. Best of all, he actually likes Charlie. And for a girl used to being caught in the shadow of her best friend, Drummond’s spotlight warms Charlie in a way she never thought possible. But as their relationship grows closer, there’s one detail that remains impossible to forget: Mr. Drummond is her teacher.   “Jessica Alcott’s writing is like a very personal glimpse into your own adolescent diary. Raw, uncomfortable, but still often hilarious.” –Harried Reuter Hapgood, author of The Square Root of Summer   “The witty repartee among characters is reminiscent of the dialogue in John Green’s novels or a Gilmore Girls episode.” –School Library Journal   “Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.” –Booklist

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Fiction
  • Romance

Age Level: 

  • Mature Young Adult
Profile Picture

Charlie is a senior in high school, but she is not looking forward to her final year in school at all. Her best friend Lila is everything Charlie thinks she is not: intelligent, sociable, funny, and gorgeous to boot. Charlie is used to being glanced over when she and Lila are together. Her mom just can't seem to understand her, and is forcing her to join an extracurricular activity to try to make more friends. She knows she's going to hate it... until she meets her new English teacher, Mr. Drummond.  She thinks he is everything she's always wanted.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
LITPICK and YOU
 
Reviewers improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!
 

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS