Tragedy seems to follow Harmony like a rain cloud. After five long years mourning the loss of her soulmate, she meets her own tragic demise. But she’s surprised to awake in the afterlife, flooded with memories of former lives, each ending in accidental deaths…

As a student of the hereafter, she works with her spirit guide to find answers to the troubling pattern. And Harmony is perplexed by the clues that point to a charming classmate and a fateful promise to tie their destinies.

Can Harmony reveal the deeper truth behind her star-struck love affairs and put an end to her unlucky streak?

Enlightened is the first book in a fascinating YA paranormal fantasy series. If you like emotional journeys, memorable characters, and enduring romance, then you’ll adore Billie Kowalewski’s mind-bending novel.

Book Details


  • Fantasy
  • Fiction
  • Paranormal
  • Romance

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up

Harmony, the main character of Enlightened, has lived multiple lives throughout many different centuries. She references Earth as her school and repeatedly visits it to learn useful skills she can apply to her next life. When one life is over, she returns to heaven or "home" and prepares for her next life.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.