Canticle (The Psalms of Isaak)
Ken Scholes
Come back to the Named Lands in this compelling sequel to Ken Scholes amazing novel Lamentation.It is nine months after the end of the previous book.  Many noble allies have come to the Ninefold Forest for a Feast in honor of General Rudolfo’s  first-born child.  Jin Li Tam, his wife and mother of his heir, lies in childbed.As the feast begins, the doors of the hall fly open and invisible assassins begin attacking.   All of Rudolfo’s noble guests are slain, including Hanric, the Marsh Queen’s Shadow.  And on the Keeper’s Gate, which guards the Named Lands from the Churning Waste, a strange figure appears, with a message for Petronus, the Hidden Pope.Thus begins the second movement of The Psalms of Isaak, Canticle.

Book Details


  • Adventure
  • Fiction
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

Canticle Canticle by Ken Scholes was a challenging read, consisting of words above average for kids 10-12. You need to be ready to take on this tough fantasy novel, or the book loses its point. The plot was amazing though. The dissolved Androfrancine Order has passed their power to Rudolfo. His consort, Jin Li Tam is pregnant, so Rudolfo holds a celebration to honor the new child. As the feast begins, invisible assassins attack. Nearly everyone is slain. Is this the beginning of the end? Canticle will keep a reader up many nights, always begging for one more chapter. Alejandro Rodriguez

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
Reviewers improve reading & writing
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
Find great books and start book clubs too!