Beware That Girl
Beware That Girl
Beware That Girl
Teresa Toten
For fans of We Were Liars, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train comes a powerful psychological thriller with a gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists. Set against the backdrop of New York City, this compelling novel delves into the dysfunctional yet mesmerizing world of the mega-wealthy elite and will keep readers guessing until the very last page.  The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change all that. She’s book-smart. She’s street-smart. And she’s also a masterful liar. As the scholarship student at the elite Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ranks and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior-class “it” girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had.  When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration as head of fund-raising, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives, becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. Mark has his own plan for a bright future and never doubts that he can pull it off. How close can Kate and Olivia get to him without having to share their dark pasts? “Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl.” —PW “It’s smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable.” —Quill & Quire, Starred

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Fiction
  • Mystery

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

Beware that Girl is a story that follows the lives of two girls: Kate and Olivia. Both have dark pasts and secrets that may be better left untold. Yet, they come from two completely different life styles. In this book, it is plain to see that the saying “opposites attract” definitely has some truth, even if the attraction is a little manipulated.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Bestselling Books at Booksamillion.com

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS