They Both Die at the End
They Both Die at the End
They Both Die at the End
Adam Silvera
Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Adventure
  • Fiction

Age Level: 

  • Mature Young Adult
Profile Picture

In an alternate universe, Death-Cast is a service which calls you on the day you are going to die. When eighteen year-old Mateo Torrez receives the Death-Cast call, he is terrified. He feels as if he has wasted his whole life. So he downloads an app called Last Friend which pairs him up with Rufus Emeterio, who has also received the Death-Cast call. Read along as these two venture out on their End Day, taking risks they never would have taken before.

To add your comments, login or sign up as a member of LitPick.
LITPICK and YOU
 
Students improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!
RECENT STUDENT BOOK REVIEWS