Sisters in Sanity
Sisters in Sanity
Sisters in Sanity
Gayle Forman
The very first novel by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay now has a beautiful new cover. Sisters in Sanity is a story of sisterhood and self-discovery that’s perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Morgan Matson, and Siobhan Vivian.Britt Hemphill doesn’t know who she can trust. Her free-spirit mother has disappeared, and her father, once Britt’s partner in crime, has remarried and shipped her off to Red Rock, a so-called treatment facility for troubled girls. And the counselors at Red Rock? They’re completely insane. Britt’s horror at the “therapy”—vicious name-calling and grueling physical labor—is second only to her hatred for the backstabbing patients, who win privileges by ratting each other out.But when V, Bebe, Martha, and Cassie, the four girls who keep Britt from going over the edge, help her sneak out to go see Jeb, her maybe-more-than-friends bandmate, she starts to believe that there may actually be people who can help her—and people that she can help by taking down Red Rocks. Sisters in Sanity perfectly captures the feeling of being trapped in a world that refuses to understand you—and fighting back.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Fiction
  • Juvenile Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

Sixteen year old, Brit Hemphill, can be seen as your typical semi-rebellious teen. She is lead vocals in her rock band, sports a tatoo, and can't for the life of her get along with her father and step-mother. Any other parent would just let their child live out their rebellious teen years. But not hers. Her father and step-mother send her to Red Rock; a boot camp like institution that breaks people down in order to "share their emotions." Here, Brit learns about her real mother, who lives in an institution with schizophrenia.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
 
RECENT BOOK REVIEWS