Shadowheart: Volume Four of Shadowmarch
Tad Williams
The long-awaited concluding novel in Tad Williams's thrilling epic Shadowmarch series. Southmarch Castle is about to be caught between two implacable enemies, the ancient, immortal Qar and the insane god-king, the Autarch of Xis. Meanwhile, its two young defenders, Princess Briony and Prince Barrick, are both trapped far away from home and fighting for their lives. And now, something is awakening underneath Southmarch Castle, something powerful and terrible that the world has not seen for thousands of years. Can Barrick and Briony, along with a tiny handful of allies, ordinary and extraordinary, find a way to save their world and prevent the rise of a terrible new age-an age of unending darkness?

Book Details


  • Fantasy

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

While the slightly over 700 pages of Shadowheart are saturated by a multitude of individual storylines and plot pieces, most of these tend to focus towards the one, central plotline. Shadowheart continues, and concludes, the arc of the Shadowmarch series. As a result, it features many of the same characters from the previous novels, further enumerating their problems and their efforts to rectify them. Briony Eddon, working in conjunction with the Prince Eanas, wishes to regain her good name and fortune in Southmarch, and also to take back her rightful position upon the throne.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
Reviewers improve reading & writing
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
Find great books and start book clubs too!