Kate the Great
Kate the Great, Except When She's Not
Kate the Great
Fans of Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries will love this illustrated series by the New York Times bestselling author of All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat. Meet Kate Geller, a sassy flute-playing artist, who comes up with an original way to redefine friendship. Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to be pals with her frenemy, Nora. Her art teacher, Mrs. Petty, is way too uncreative, and how can Kate pay attention at Junior Guides when her pod leader has a sweat stain the size of the town beach? Now she has to get through her Christopher Columbus role during Discovery Day and her “Colonial Buddies” report, but little does she know how much “help” she’ll be getting from Eleanor Roosevelt and Albert Einstein. This humorous debut novel features more than 350 illustrations.Praise for Kate the Great:"She's funny. Quirky. Original. Kate's the greatest."  -Lincoln Peirce, author of Big Nate"May Kate continue to be this great." –The Horn Book“Becker’s first illustrated novel falls neatly in line with many others of its ilk, series such as Big Nate and Diary of a Wimpy Kid…” –Booklist“Becker does an excellent job of channeling the behind-adults’-backs humor and friendship frustrations of the middle-school crowd…” –Publishers Weekly“Debut novelist Becker employs doodles, cartoons, and comic strips reminiscent of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Lincoln Peirce’s Big Nate.” –School Library Journal

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Fiction
  • For Reluctant Readers
  • Juvenile Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 8 - 12
Profile Picture

This is a book about 10 year old Kate and her wacky adventures.  Kate and her BFF Brooke are having a normal, 5th grade school year. Then "the outcast," Nora Klein, comes into Kate's life.  When Nora's father must go on a long business trip, Kate’s mother talks Kate into being friends with Nora, a difficult, moody girl. Kate’s world is turned upside-down.  Kate starts to get Nora to open up, but is Kate willing to take desperate measures to ensure her friendship?  Find out in this very rousing book. 

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Bestselling Books at Booksamillion.com

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS