Ashlynn's Dreams
Ashlynn's Dreams (Devya's Children Book 1)
Ashlynn's Dreams
The kidnapping changes everything …Twelve-year-old Jillian Blairington never thought she was particularly special. She was wrong. She’s a Dream Shaper. The scientists responsible for the genetic modifications kidnap her in order to teach Jillian how to use her Gift. But she isn’t alone. They also have her babysitter, Danielle Matheson, snatched to keep her in line. They also have a task for her.If Jillian can’t master her Gift quickly, Danielle might only be the first victim of many.Interview with the Author:Q: What makes the Devya’s Children series special? A: At the heart, this series is about family and friendship as well as the ethical questions surrounding genetic engineering. It’s been likened to the Orphan Black TV show. I like to think of it as a more family-friendly take on those themes. The premise is that a brilliant scientist and his team created several genetically altered children who have special Gifts, such as telepathy, healing, and dream shaping. The journal/letters style is not unique to this series, but I believe ultimately it suits my need to get in these people’s heads. I’ve worked very hard to fill the books with relatable characters. Some of them happen to have superpowers, but as Jillian points out, everybody has gifts, if not Gifts. It’s just a matter of finding out what those gifts are and how they can be applied for the good of the world.Q: What order should I read them in?A: I suggest the traditional order of:- Ashlynn’s Dreams- Nadia’s Tears- Malia’s Miracles- Varick’s Quest … before jumping into the prequel—The Dark Side of Science—or the Ashlynn’s Dreams Shorts. The prequel and the short stories can certainly be read as standalones, but they may be more enjoyable once the reader’s already familiar with some of the characters.Q: Where does this book fit in the series? What theme(s) make it special?A: Ashlynn’s Dreams is where it all started. This is definitely the place where you want to jump in and get connected. If I had to pick a few central themes, I’d say kidnapping, family, and genetic engineering. Why kidnapping? Well, it’s awful and scary and just plain wrong, but in this case, there’s a specific reason the scientists do it.How does family fit in? What makes a family? The truth is that family’s a complicated thing. For example, here, Jillian has a mother, a father, a step-father, and much more. It’s been fun to explore those connections.Science fiction’s all about the what-ifs. We’re actually just getting into the advancements in real world genetics where some of these things could be in the near future. That’s going to open a whole can of ethical worms. Fiction’s a wonderful playground for delving into scientific ethics. Q: Why should readers check out this series?A: Because Devya’s Children will introduce you to a charming cast of characters dealing with some big issues. Right or wrong, the children exist, so now what? If you have the power to change the world, should you? What are the personal cost and consequences of shaping the world? These are all questions explored by the series.Q: Can the reader get the whole series at once?A: Readers can grab books 1-3 in a combination.

Book Details


  • Science Fiction
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.

Place your ad here