An American Tragedy (Peter O'Keefe Book 4)
An American Tragedy (Peter O'Keefe Book 4)

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

In the scorching summer of 1988, amidst the frenzy of the Satanic Panic gripping the nation, private detective O’Keefe finds himself thrust into a trial like no other. As he strives to establish his fledgling agency, the last thing he anticipates is being drawn into a harrowing legal battle. But when Virginia Montrose, “Miss Ginny” to her students and his daughter Kelly’s most beloved teacher, is accused of heinous crimes against her current and former students, O’Keefe faces a moral quandary unlike any before.

Despite the risks and the overwhelming stigma, O’Keefe’s encounter with the shadowy child protection figures driving the prosecution sparks a fierce determination to seek truth and justice.

In this gripping tale of courage and conviction, O’Keefe's resolve is put to the ultimate test as he confronts the darkest facets of human nature and dares to challenge the prevailing hysteria. O’Keefe must summon every ounce of his strength to uncover the shocking truth while struggling to reverse the relentless tide of injustice.

from Amazon

Read what others are saying about An American Tragedy on Amazon

Book Details


  • Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Series

Age Level: 

  • Adult
Profile Picture

An American Tragedy by Dan Flanigan is Book 4 in the Peter O'Keefe series. O'Keefe is a no-nonsense, seemingly lackadaisical private investigator. He's not pretentious, bordering on humble. He's no slouch. O'Keefe is a kindhearted, dedicated, honorable, and insightful private investigator. We find him caring for justice in this particular case, and seeing through the twists and motives in a tumultuous time. The "Tragedy" in this story is the horrific and devastating issue of child abuse.

To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.