After Isaac
After Isaac
After Isaac
Top Choice
His brother is dead. His parents are making new plans. His only plan is to run away.Aaron Saturn, 14, is an emotional zombie--stuck in grief for his little brother, Isaac, who died. Aaron longs for an escape, and thinks he's found one when he meets Kim, a girl living on the streets of New York City's East Village. But the real upheaval in his life hits when his parents reveal a startling plan to change their family. Aaron needs to learn that running away won't heal him. For that to happen, he must be willing to let love back into his life. Love that will lead him farther away than he ever imagined--all the way to China. In the tradition of The Last Time We Say Goodbye, After Isaac is a deeply affecting novel about death--and life.After Isaac touches on issues of grief in young adults, sibling loss, homeless youth, adoption and China's one-child policy.

Book Details

Genre: 

  • Juvenile Fiction

Age Level: 

  • 12 and up
Profile Picture

After Isaac is about a teenage boy, Aaron Saturn, who lost his brother to a sudden, unexpected heart attack. Aaron lives day by day, struggling to move on after his brother’s death.

Profile Picture

After Isaac is about a young boy named Aaron Saturn, who lost his brother to a sudden and tragic heart attack. Aaron lives day by day, struggling to move on. Even with the support of the people around him, Aaron struggles in his life.  Aaron learns that nothing can replace his brother Isaac, and many conflicts occur as his parents are trying to move on. To rebound from the constant thought of losing his baby brother, Aaron turns to rebellion and poor decision making. Soon after, Aaron meets Kim, a sweet girl from New York's Upper East Side.

From the Publisher


To add your comments, login above or request a LitPick membership.
Profile Picture
After Isaac by Avra Wing is a deep and thoughtful book about a teenage boy, Aaron Saturn, and his family in the aftermath of the sudden and unexpected death of his younger brother, Isaac. It is a profound story exploring the emotional distraught and grief as a result of losing a loved one, and it is about letting go of the blame on oneself, moving on, and living. I liked the use of little references to foreshadow the event that gives the family hope and a reason to ‘live’. Also the stories of the people around the family, such as the going-ons of Emma’s family, the Millers, Owen, and Kim, are intact to add to the emotional journey that Aaron embarks. Which also serves to teach him understanding, and finally allows him to live again.
5 years 11 months ago
Profile Picture
Sounds like you feel this book should have received five stars?
5 years 11 months ago
Profile Picture
Personally I loved this book(I'm waiting for my review to be accepted) I definitely recommend it to anyone (over the age of 12 because of the excessive swearing)
3 years 11 months ago
LITPICK and YOU
 
Reviewers improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!

RECENT BOOK REVIEWS