Mature Young Adult
The Lies They Tell
THE LIES THEY TELL
With shades of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, this dark and twisted mystery by the highly acclaimed author of Grit will be the page-turner of the year.Everyone in Tenney’s Harbor knows about the Garrison tragedy. How an unexplained fire ravaged their house, killing four of the five family members. But what people don’t know is who did it. All fingers point at Pearl Haskins’ father, who was the caretaker of the property, but Pearl just doesn’t believe it. Leave it to a town of rich people to blame “the help.”With her disgraced father now trying to find work in between booze benders, Pearl’s future doesn’t hold much more than waiting tables at the local country club, where the wealthy come to flaunt their money and spread their gossip. This year, Tristan, the last surviving Garrison, and his group of affluent and arrogant friends have made a point of sitting in Pearl’s section. Though she’s repulsed by most of them, Tristan’s quiet sadness and somber demeanor have her rethinking her judgments.Befriending the boys could mean getting closer to the truth, clearing her father’s name, and giving Tristan the closure he seems to be searching for. But it could also trap Pearl in a sinister web of secrets, lies, and betrayals that would leave no life unchanged…if it doesn’t take hers first.

Book Details

Ghost Songs
Ghost Songs
It’s not easy being Todd Williams, a fourteen-and-a-half-year-old gay musical prodigy. The bullies, Bob and Ari, at his fancy private school make his life a living hell. Todd’s drunken, irresponsible mother, Eddie, constantly embarrasses him and puts his artistic future in jeopardy. And now, his best friend, Jennifer, who plays clarinet with him in the orchestra, isn’t speaking to him. Maybe Leroy, Todd’s friendly poltergeist, knows what’s going on with her. To top it off, he can no longer rely on Jennifer's help in the race to solve a puzzle that could lead to a buried treasure. Todd must learn to stand alone. He’s finding out that growing up is far scarier than he ever imagined.

Book Details

The Wolf in Winter (The Valarsard Chronicles) (Volume 2)
The Wolf in Winter (The Valarsard Chronicles: Book Two)
Erin Eldridge
Following the dramatic events that closed Book One, the Valarsards settle back into harmonious co-existence. But tranquility is short-lived, enemies are close at hand, and both the wolf and the eagle are called upon as never before to protect loved ones and avert further tragedy.

Book Details

Ravening Heart of the Wolf (The Valarsard Chronicles) (Volume 1)
Ravening Heart of the Wolf-The Valarsard Chronicles:Bk 1
from the grave. A young girl is uprooted from the sheltered life that is all she has known and must learn to survive in a violent and pitiless world where man is wolf to man. A valiant young warrior loses his heart to her, but the unforeseen tears them apart. Fate conspires to throw all three into each other’s path with shattering results. A colorful cast of minor characters helps to create a stunning, stained-glass-montage of an adventure that will enthrall readers young, old, and in-between.

Book Details

Nila: Fire (Volume 3)
Nila: Fire
Nila-Fire, the third in the series, has Seth, a Nila Swimmer, and his adopted family of Nila flyers finding themselves back on their home planet, Earth. Assisted by two hikers, Vuna is nursed back to health after his attack by Zerths. Vuna and Zuri’s fast-growing daughter Seva connects them, as flyers, with humans, and they learn their reason for returning to Earth—to assist their own kind! Jiva and Kava go on a mission given to them by Gian, where they obtain the clear crystal and a quest from Sam. Kava returns to the flyers with the clear crystal, while Jiva leaves the flock with a map, a riddle, and Britta—Sam’s housekeeper. On his own mission, Seth is saved by Xcina from stormy waters. He learns his family of swimmers has also returned to Earth and safe from the Zerths. Taken to a lavender planet, Xcina passes the mantle of “She” onto him, but not before giving him instructions to find his father. With new visions of darkness, yellow eyes, and imminent danger, he reluctantly searches for his father. Hearing Sam’s version of events, beginning with his childhood, Seth sets out to reunite Sam with his Nila family of swimmers and Aiyana, Seth’s mother. Seth and his family leave Earth to live in a paradise, which causes a rift for the swimmers. Tragedy strikes, which causes Seth to lose his way. Nila of a new form are coaxed into saving Seth, which rekindles past mistrust between Lara and Zuri, both She. What are Lara’s real motives behind assisting Seth?

Book Details

Nila: Air (Volume 2)
Nila: Air
Nila-Air, the second in the series, has Seth discovering the perilous motives behind his father’s heartless actions that caused his debilitated health, isolation, and suffering. Now reborn on a new pristine world, Nila are determined to rebuild their community and face any new challenges. Finally living as a true Nila, Seth must learn how to deal with the withdrawals of his former human life. Boredom and heartache force Seth to search within himself for his meaning and purpose while his relationship with Kate deteriorates with the presence of Raymond, who becomes the Red Crystal Bearer that Seth and his father previously held. Seth’s connection with the mysterious Her—Nila’s spiritual leader—intensifies as he attempts to decipher new visions from Her. Straying from Nila protocol, Seth discovers a new threat—the current winged inhabitants. Boredom quickly turns into adventure and self-discovery that are fraught with danger and gut-wrenching decisions. Can Seth bring peace between his Nila family and the inhabitants, and does he have time?

Book Details

Nila: Water (Volume 1)
Nila: Water
Nila-Water, the first in a series, emerges as a blend of the parallel realities that Seth lives in. Developing a debilitating illness with an excruciating skin condition, he has lived a life of isolation. He escapes to the bedtime stories told by his father, of a beneficent race of Nila, who live on earth and in the oceans. Suffering also the loss of his father, who abruptly disappears from his life, he becomes attracted to his beautiful, tantalizing caretaker, Kate, who shares the house entrusted to him by his father. They mutually agree he should undergo four risky treatments recommended by his doctor, Eshe, to curb his ailing condition. The questionable intentions of Seth’s powerful father for humans and for Nila are revealed during the course of treatments. Are Seth’s real-life experiences during the treatments actually his new life in the ocean, or a result of the drug being administered?

Book Details

Emergency Contact
Emergency Contact
Mary H. K. Choi
“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind. Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

Book Details

Freefall Summer
Freefall Summer
Sixteen-year-old Clancy Edwards has always been "the good girl." Ever since her mother died in a skydiving accident when Clancy was young, Clancy's father has watched her like a hawk. Between her dad's rules and her boyfriend's protectiveness, she's longing for an escape this summer. Then she meets Denny.Denny is a new skydiving student and college freshman. Clancy lets Denny think they're the same age--and that she's old enough to make decisions for herself. But the lies snowball, relationships are damaged, and suddenly Clancy isn't the person she wants to be. If only making choices were as simple as taking a leap out of a plane. Before Clancy can make things right, one last act of rebellion threatens her chance to do so--maybe forever.

Book Details

Reality Gold (The Shifting Reality Collection)
Reality Gold
Tiffany Brooks
“…an incredibly readable, fast-paced, YA coming of age adventure novel where everyone has a secret, and no one is who they seem.” —Chanticleer Reviews   High school senior Riley Ozaki is desperate to change her reality after an avalanche of Internet shaming ruined her life. With her reputation and self-esteem at rock bottom thanks to cyberbullying, Riley needs to do something drastic to repair her social standing—which is why she decided to try out for a reality TV show. Suddenly, she’s dropping onto a deserted tropical island with nineteen other teens for a Survivor-style competition that she hopes will be her redemption.   With a cast of vivid characters who will stop at nothing to win the show, a cursed island setting, and a priceless treasure waiting to be discovered, Reality Gold pitches readers right into scheming web of lies, love, and betrayal. This novel is a fast-paced journey where allies may not be who they say they are, and legends abound. Riley must embrace all of life’s realities, including loss and deceit, in order to discover who she truly is.

Book Details

Pages



LITPICK and YOU
 
Students improve reading & writing
 
Authors get reviews, videos, social media, & more
 
Find great books and start book clubs too!
RECENT STUDENT BOOK REVIEWS